Stingrays Announce Protected List

Jun 2, 2016

The South Carolina Stingrays, proud ECHL affiliate of the Washington Capitals, announced today the team's Protected List. South Carolina's Protected List includes 15 players who appeared on the club's 2016 Kelly Cup Playoff roster, and a total of 18 skaters. 

The Stingrays' Protected List includes the following players:

Forwards (11): Brett Cameron, Andrew Cherniwchan, Derek DeBlois, Joe Devin, Patrick Gaul, Trevor Gillies, David Pacan, Wayne Simpson, Jared Staal, Stephan Vigier, Kelly Zajac 
Forward/Defense (1): Marcus Perrier 

Defensemen (6): Nick D'Agostino, Wade Epp, Spencer Humphries, Drew MacKenzie, Ryan Ruikka, Colton Saucerman 


Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that: 

1. Signed an SPC in 2015-16 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2015-16, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2015-16 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released. 

Protected lists may exceed 20 players. 

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15. 

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2015-16.

Back to All